Full Breakdown
Tesla Initiates Record Recall of Nearly 3 Million Vehicles in China Over Door-Handle Safety Issue
8/23/2026, 9:46:51 PM
Core Event: Massive Recall Targeting Door-Handle Egress
Tesla announced a recall affecting 2,975,910 vehicles in China—the largest single-model recall in the country’s history. The recall covers Model 3, Model Y, Model S and Model X built between 2018 and 2026. The State Administration for Market Regulation (SAMR) says the mechanically operated emergency door-release handles can become difficult to locate and operate after a severe collision that disables the low-voltage system, creating a safety hazard. The recall is scheduled to begin on September 25, 2026.
Background & Context: New Chinese Safety Regulations and Industry Pressure
China has tightened vehicle-door safety rules, requiring all new EVs sold after 2027 to have visible, mechanically operable emergency releases. The policy challenges the flush, electronically actuated door handles popularized by Tesla and adopted by many Chinese EV makers. Domestic manufacturers such as BYD, Xiaomi, Leapmotor, Xpeng and Geely are also facing intense price competition, increasing scrutiny of safety-related design choices.
Data & Statistics: Scope of the Recall and Affected Models
- Total vehicles recalled: 2,975,910 (SAMR).
- Domestic production: 973,156 Model 3 units (Mar 2019 – Apr 2026) and 1,956,713 Model Y units (Nov 2020 – Apr 2026).
- Imported units: 35,590 Model 3 (Aug 2018 – Nov 2019), 8,328 Model X (Oct 2022 – Feb 2026) and 2,123 Model S (Jan 2023 – Feb 2026).
- Combined recall activity in China: Tesla’s 2.98 million vehicles plus recalls from eight other automakers total roughly 4.3 million (SAMR).
Official Statements & Responses
Tesla said owners whose vehicles cannot receive the OTA fix will be contacted for service appointments. SAMR’s notice confirmed the recall scope and the requirement for both physical labels and software remediation. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) noted that the automakers involved have not disclosed plans for comparable recalls in the United States.
Conflicting Reports & Gaps
Sources differ on the precise vehicle count: some outlets cite “nearly 3 million” or “2.98 million,” while the SAMR filing specifies 2,975,910 units. No public data confirm injuries linked to the door-handle design, and Tesla has not disclosed how many affected cars already carry factory-installed warning labels.
What’s Next: Implementation Timeline and Regulatory Outlook
The recall actions—label application and OTA window-lowering update—will commence on September 25, 2026. Owners will receive the software patch automatically; physical stickers must be installed at service centers. China’s broader safety mandate requires all automakers to redesign door mechanisms by January 1, 2029 to meet the new emergency-release standards. Tesla’s chief designer Franz von Holzhausen has indicated that future models will integrate a combined manual-electronic handle, a design already shown on the upcoming Cybercab.
U.S. regulators have expressed interest in new standards for occupant egress during power-loss events, but no U.S. recall has been announced.
