Drooid Logo
Back to story perspectives

Full Breakdown

FDA Clears Roche/Eli Lilly Elecsys pTau217 Blood Test for Alzheimer’s

8/25/2026, 3:44:09 AM

FDA Clearance and Test Overview

On August 24, the U.S. Food and Drug Administration granted 510(k) clearance to the Elecsys pTau217 assay, a blood test developed by Roche with Eli Lilly. It is indicated for individuals 55 years and older who present with cognitive-decline symptoms. Results are reported as positive, intermediate, or negative, reflecting the likelihood of amyloid pathology. Roche notes the assay runs on more than 4,500 cobas® immunoassay instruments already installed in U.S. labs, enabling rapid scaling. Labcorp and Quest Diagnostics plan to offer the test through their national networks. Roche has not disclosed the price.

Background and Market Context

Blood-based biomarkers for Alzheimer’s have accelerated recently. The first FDA-cleared blood test, Fujirebio’s Lumipulse, received clearance in 2025, followed by Roche’s Elecsys pTau181 assay later that year. In May 2026, the European Union granted CE-mark approval for Elecsys pTau217, paving the way for U.S. clearance. The market is responding to a growing need for earlier, less invasive diagnosis as disease-modifying therapies require confirmation of amyloid pathology.

Data and Test Characteristics

  • Target population: Adults 55 + with cognitive-decline symptoms.
  • Biomarker measured: Phosphorylated tau protein at threonine-217 (pTau217).
  • Result categories: Positive, intermediate, negative, each linked to validated clinical cut-offs.
  • Instrumentation: Compatible with Roche’s existing 4,500 cobas® analyzers in the United States.
  • Regulatory status: FDA 510(k) clearance (August 24); prior European CE-mark (May 2026).

Official Statements from Roche, FDA, and Partners

Roche reiterated that Elecsys pTau217 is not intended as a stand-alone diagnostic tool; results should be interpreted alongside clinical evaluation, imaging, and other laboratory findings. FDA documents note the assay supports both rule-in and rule-out assessments of amyloid pathology, aligning with Alzheimer’s Association guidelines for blood-based biomarkers with high sensitivity and specificity in specialist settings.

Timeline of Recent Developments

  • May 2025: FDA clears Fujirebio’s Lumipulse blood test.
  • May 2026: European CE-mark granted for Elecsys pTau217.
  • August 21 2026: FDA clears C2N Diagnostics’ PrecivityAD2 test (first cleared for patients 40 +).
  • August 24 2026: FDA clears Roche/Eli Lilly Elecsys pTau217 assay.

Conflicting Reports and Information Gaps

  • Predictive values: Roche emphasizes the test’s ability to “rule in” and “rule out” amyloid pathology, yet Dr. Isaacson reports limited positive predictive value. No independent, peer-reviewed study of the assay’s performance in a broad primary-care population is cited.
  • Pricing: Roche has not disclosed the cost, leaving uncertainty about reimbursement and patient affordability.